Olkiluoto backup battery (TVO)
Status not stated, 85 MW, in Eurajoki, owned by Teollisuuden Voima Oyj (TVO). Every fact below is as a published source states it, with the address beside it; a field not shown is one no source gave, and nothing is guessed.
The battery
| Power | 85 MW |
| Status | Status not stated, as of 20 May 2022 |
| Owner’s date | 2022 summer, expected |
| Municipality | Eurajoki (Olkiluoto) |
| Placed on the map | at the centre of Eurajoki, its municipality (GeoNames) |
Who is behind it
| Owner | Teollisuuden Voima Oyj (TVO) |
| Built by | Hitachi ABB Power Grids (e-mesh PowerStore, SCADA, substation expansion) |
| Business ID | 0196656-0 |
YTJ, by exact name: Teollisuuden Voima Oyj. https://avoindata.prh.fi/opendata-ytj-api/v3/companies?businessId=0196656-0
Not published anywhere we have found: ultimate owner, developer, cells. The page says so rather than guessing.
What the sources say
Hitachi ABB Power Grids (June 2021): 90 MW on the island of Olkiluoto, fast-start backup power for a disturbance at Olkiluoto 3, to be commissioned in 2022. TVO's news page (read 12 Oct 2026) has no battery item. No source read confirms it exists; whether Fingrid counts it in dataset 424 is unknown. Earlier source World Nuclear News replaced by the supplier's own release. CORRECTED 18 Oct 2026: was "planned, expected 2022" at 90 MW. TVO (20 May 2022): "Akkuenergiavarasto otetaan käyttöön kesän aikana", 85 MW, commissioning tests begun, the 110 kV switchyard extension complete. No later release confirming use could be read (TVO's news index does not load), so it is unconfirmed rather than planned.
Evidence and sources
- name: hitachienergy.com/news-and-events/press-releases/2021/06/hitachi-…
- municipality: hitachienergy.com/news-and-events/press-releases/2021/06/hitachi-…
- power: tvo.fi/ajankohtaista/tiedotteetporssitiedotteet/2022/o…
- status: hitachienergy.com/news-and-events/press-releases/2021/06/hitachi-…
From the owners’, developers’ and builders’ own releases, council decisions and permit bulletins, read by Vitreous and checked against the owners’ own words on 12 October 2026; a bracket such as “(Energy-Storage.news only)” in a field means the trade press is still the only source for it. Fingrid publishes no meter, no price and no instruction per battery, so this page carries no money: what one megawatt is paid in Fingrid’s markets is on the markets page, for the whole market and never for a named battery. List id FI-B046.